Pros and Cons of joining a Early College: From A Early College Student

To be a student in a Early College is a one in a life time opportunity and a great privilege. Even though I enjoy my program a great deal, I still have some issues with it. These are some of my Pros and Cons of joining a Early College Program:

Disclaimer: I would like to start off with a brief description of what Early College is. Early College is a program that allows select students to take college classes on a community college campus (how my area’s program is set up), and the goal is to obtain your Associates Degree.
To be a student in a Early College is a one in a life time opportunity and a great privilege. Even though I enjoy my program a great deal, I still have some issues with it. These are some of my Pros and Cons of joining a Early College Program:

Some pros are:

To interact with people who are older and have different backgrounds than you (students and professors):

Professors are different than teachers in some aspects. The most obvious one is that they are more ‘free’ in the subjects they talk about. Also depending on the class you are in, the professor or students will express their thoughts about certain situations which can lead to a friendly dialogue. 

To receive a free college education:

College is constantly getting higher, so it is important to try to seize on any opportunity to get a free education. Think about it as ‘free food’ at a party.

Understand the importance of higher education:

Sometimes the importance of education really isn’t explained fully, which it can’t be. Due to the fact that I am a person that likes to experience things hands on, I enjoy the opportunity of being able to go through college before going to my university. This also helped me learn about community college because most high schools tend to over look community College as a alternative after high school. It really is a great place to start your college journey.

Some cons are:

Not really being included in things at your high school:

Sometimes, if you are in Early College, you may not get news on the same day as others. This is why it is important to have someone you know that is on campus, so they can tell you the latest information.

There may be a disconnect between the different sides: 

My school has some tension. This is due to miscommunication and sometimes other situations that may arise.

You may not feel obligated to go to any of the “original” high school functions:

For example, some of my peers are not going to all senior activities and some aren’t going to any. In my case, I am not going to any of them.

What do you think about Early College program? 

Leave a Reply

